Thermal Transformation of Indigenous Diaspore


 Diaspore, Corundum, TGA, XRD.

How to Cite

Muhammad Ashraf Kamal, Syed Mumtaz Danish Naqvi, Syed Mohib Raza Kazmi, Kashif Riaz, & Shaikh Mohiuddin. (2015). Thermal Transformation of Indigenous Diaspore. Journal of Basic & Applied Sciences, 11, 143–145.


Indigenous diaspore is a high density hard mineral. It becomes harder on heating up to 550oC. The dispore has been characterized thermally by thermal gravimetric analysis and x-ray diffraction. Results show that the indigenous mineral increases its density after heating at various temperatures for 1 hour. Increase in density points out the increase in hardness due to the formation of a more crystalline compact material corundum using as abrasive.


Kazmi AH, Abbas SG. Metallogency and mineral deposits of Pakistan. Islamabad, Pakistan: Orient Petroleum 2001.

Deer WA, Howie RA, Zussman J. An introduction to the rock forming minerals. 2nd ed., Longman Group UK Limited 1992; p. 696.

Klein C, Hurlbut CS. Manual of Mineralogy, Wiley, 20th ed. 1985; p. 318.

Kirk O. Encyclopedia of chemical technology. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 4th ed., 2006; Vol. 2: p. 230.

Wefers K. Metall 1967; 21: 423-431.

Hatipoglu M, Helvac? C, Chamberlain SC, Babal?k H. Mineralogical characteristics of unusual ‘‘Anatolian” diaspore (zultanite) crystals from the Ilbirdag?? diasporite deposit, Turkey. J Afr Earth Sci 2010; 57: 525-541.

Wefers K, Misra C. Oxides and Hydroxides of Aluminum. Alcoa Laboratories. Aluminum Company of America 1987; p. 41.

Földvari M. Measurement of different water species in minerals by means of thermal derivatography. In: Smykatz-Kloss W, Warne SSJ, Eds. Thermal Analysis in Geosciences. Springer-Verlag, Berlin 1991; p. 453.

Tsuchida T, Kodaira K. Hydrothermal synthesis and characterization of diaspore, ?-Al2O3.H2O. J Mater Sci 1990; 25: 4423-4426.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Copyright (c) 2015 Muhammad Ashraf Kamal, Syed Mumtaz Danish Naqvi, Syed Mohib Raza Kazmi, Kashif Riaz , Shaikh Mohiuddin